News, Resources

New faces at the National Transport Commission

NTC chief executive Paul Retter.
NTC chief executive Paul Retter.

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, the Honourable Warren Truss MP has appointed new commissioners to lead the NTC’s work on national transport reform.

The new board of commissioners, who began their term on 1 January 20141 comprises:

  • Chairman– David Anderson.
  • Deputy Chairwoman – Carolyn Walsh.
  • Commissioner – Nola Bransgrove OAM.
  • Commissioner – Mike Mrdak.
  • Commissioner – Norm McIlfatrick.

NTC chief executive and fellow commissioner Paul Retter said he looked forward to working with the new board and utilising their expertise to advance the NTC’s work program.

“The new commissioners bring a wealth of expert industry knowledge and public sector experience from a state, national and international level.

“I am confident that we can work together with our stakeholders to bring about real and positive change for the Australian transport sector,” said Mr Retter.

The commissioners have been appointed for a three-year term.

It is planned that the new commissioners will attend their first NTC Commission meeting in Melbourne in February.

NTC Board of Commissioners – brief biographies

David Anderson, Chairman / Commissioner

David is an independent consultant on transport and infrastructure issues and projects to private companies, Australian transport jurisdictions and to the Prime Minister and senior Ministers of the Government of East Timor.

His past roles have included chief executive officer of VicRoads, independent chairman of the Performance Based Standards Review Panel, providing advice on the development of East Timor Infrastructure Plan 2009-2020, as well as being an expert panellist on rail safety and heavy vehicle policy.

Carolyn Walsh, Deputy Chairwoman / Commissioner

Carolyn is currently a commissioner at the Australian Transport Safety Bureau, and is a member of a number of NSW Government agency audit and risk committees. She also provides consultancy services in safety and risk management.

Her past roles with the NSW Government have included chief executive of the Independent Transport Safety and Reliability Regulator and executive director, Office of the Coordinator General of Rail. She has also held several positions within the Commonwealth Department of Industry, Science and Resources.

Nola Bransgrove OAM, Commissioner

Nola is joint owner of Branstrans Pty Ltd, a transport company based in Gippsland, Victoria.

She had an instrumental role in the development of the industry accreditation program TruckSafe and was awarded a ‘Medal of the Order of Australia for services to the Transport and Logistics Industry and the Community’ in 2012.

She is also chairwoman of TDT Victoria and Women in Supply Chain. Her past roles include Municipal Councillor of Traralgon Shire, Commissioner of Latrobe Regional Commission, Trustee Director of Transport Industry Superannuation Fund, Councillor of Victorian Freight and Logistics Council and director or chairwoman of a number of other representative organisations.

Mike Mrdak, Commissioner

Mike is currently Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development.

His past roles have included senior positions across this portfolio and within the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Norm McIlfatrick, Commissioner

Norm is currently secretary of the Tasmanian Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources.

His past roles have included secretary of the Tasmanian Department of Economic Development and Tourism, chief executive officer of the Tasmanian Development Board, managing director of Aurora Energy, as well as senior management roles with electricity utility Powercor Australia and the Hydro-Electric Commission in Tasmania.

©2019 All Rights Reserved. MHD Magazine is a registered trademark of Prime Creative Media.