Australian logistics veterans recognised in 2018 Honours List

The Australia Day 2018 Honours List has celebrated of several logistics experts for their contributions to the industry.
The Order of Australia recognises outstanding members of the community, it was established in 1975 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, replacing the established British honours system, the Imperial awards.
The Order of Australia has four levels – Companion of the Order (AC), Officer of the Order (AO), Member of the Order (AM) and Medal of the Order (OAM), in two divisions: general and military.
Dr Rosalie Pam Balkin has been made an Officer of the Order, for “distinguished service to maritime law through roles with a range of organisations, to the improvements of global shipping transport safety and standards, and to education as an academic and author.”
Balkin has served of the Advisory Council of the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Maritime Law, with the International Maritime Organisation, and has published several works on international maritime law, human rights law and public international law.
The late Hartmut Krtschil has been made a Member of the Order, for “significant service to biosecurity and quarantine systems, to compliance development and to the freight transport industry.”
Krtschil chaired the Industry Cargo Consultative Committee, Australia Quarantine and Inspection Service and other industry committees, was the New South Wales State Manager of the Liner Services in his early career, and gained freight industry experience working in Seaton’s Freight Terminal in the early 1990s.
Graeme Archibald Walker was also commended, for his service to the airfreight transport sector. Walker worked at CSL, MSAS Cargo International and Wathen Jardine Air Cargo, and served on the Airfreight Forwarders Association of Australia, the Victoria Airfreight Council and the Australia Arab Chamber of Commerce committees, among others.

Leave a Reply

© All Rights Reserved. All content published on this site is the property of Prime Creative Media. Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited