The industry celebrates its winners

2018 International Supply Chain Award winner: The team from Coca-Cola Bottlers Japan and XAct Solutions (Shinsei Project).

The Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia in conjunction with Wisetech Global, Vertical Talent, Australian Trusted Trader, Bondi Labs, Freight Assist, Localz, Xtreme Freight and LMA announced the winners of the 2018 Australian Supply Chain & Logistics Awards at the annual awards night dinner held at the iconic Luna Park, Sydney.
These prestigious awards have been held annually for the last 58 years by the Supply Chain and Logistics Association of Australia (SCLAA). The awards allow a fantastic opportunity for people and companies involved in the supply chain industry to celebrate and be recognised for their particular contribution, success and hard work.
There were eight categories, with seven open for submission. Each of the seven categories attracted a significant number of high-calibre submissions. Award winners were announced as follows:
2018 Training, Education & Development Award
Training, education and development remains a vital part of allowing knowledge to be utilised for new ideas and supply chain improvements to be discovered and then implemented. This award is presented to a company that can best demonstrate their commitment/ application and results of providing training, education and development of their people. The trophy was first awarded in 2002 and is dedicated to the late Professor Peter Gilmour.
2018 Training, Education and Development Award winner: Wesfarmers Chemicals Energy & Fertilisers.
2018 Information Technology and Management Award
Information remains the most important requirement of any supply chain. Information technology is where the majority of supply chain improvements have been made. Nominees for this award demonstrate where their use of existing or new technology has provided significant improvements to their management of information and/or their supply chain processes. The trophy was first awarded in 1994 and is dedicated to the late Len Smith FAIMM.
2018 Information Technology and Management Award winner: BlockBit Solutions.
2018 Industry Excellence Award
Recognises and acknowledges outstanding achievements and contribution by an individual currently engaged across the supply chain industry. Persons nominated for this most prestigious award will be leaders and will have made significant change to the way a supply chain is managed and improved either academically, physically or technologically.
Originally awarded in 1987 and dedicated to Mike Munns, FAIMM, this award remains a cornerstone of SCLAA’s commitment to recognising and promoting the importance of the supply chain industry and its people to continuously improving organisational strength and growth.
2018 Industry Excellence Award winner: Rob O’Byrne, Logistics Bureau Group.
2018 International Supply Chain Award
This is an award that recognises that supply chains know no boundaries. The ASCL International Supply Chain Award is given to a company, association or an individual that may operate internationally and are able demonstrate their capability, commitment and achievements across any spectrum of the sciences, practices, disciplines or efforts to promote and improve the knowledge and acceptance of the importance of the supply chain.
2018 International Supply Chain Award winner: Coca-Cola Bottlers Japan and XAct Solutions (Shinsei Project).
2018 Supply Chain Management Award
Supply chain management (SCM) is the overview of materials, information, and finances as they move in a process from supplier to manufacturer to wholesaler to retailer to consumer. This award recognises an organisation that can demonstrate significant achievement within a section or across their entire supply chain. Nominees should be able to clearly state the design and achieved results of the project or process that was envisaged and then implemented. The trophy was first awarded in 1984 and is dedicated to Doug Beattie.
2018 Supply Chain Management Award winner: Fremantle Ports.
2018 Logistics Management Award
This is a new award and is awarded for one of the oldest disciplines of any supply chain and replaces the Storage and Materials Handling Award. Recipients may stem from nominees for any of the other SCLAA awards at the judges’ discretion, or from a direct application, where the demonstrated achievement, improvement or results have required a logistical approach to improvement or major change to their logistics management.
2018 Logistics Management Award winner: Richard White, WiseTech Global.
Environmental Excellence Award
The ASCL Environmental Excellence Award recognises corporate leadership contributing to the solution of environmental sustainability within our industry through performance and action. The trophy was first awarded in 1966 and is dedicated to Mr Ken Pike.
2018 Environmental Excellence Award winner: PGT-Reclaimed.
2018 Future Leaders Award
The purpose of this award is to provide incentive and recognition to young supply chain professionals who are both currently working in and wish to continue their career path. Nominees for this award should be able to demonstrate their passion and commitment to taking the supply chain toward tomorrow. The SCLAA wishes to showcase finalists and provide impetus to continue to attract the brightest to the industry. First awarded in 2009 and dedicated to Vince Aisthorpe.
2018 Future Leaders Award winner: Kathryn Esler.
The 2018 ASCL Awards Gala Dinner was a memorable evening with MC Michael Gallacher, CEO Ports Australia, and guest speaker Commissioner Michael Outram APM, Commissioner of the Australian Border Force (ABF). Significant SCLAA announcements were made by our chairwoman Amanda O’Brien, one of these being that SCLAA had formed an alliance with the Australian International Trade Association in the implementation of the ‘Belt and Road Australia-China Supply Chain and Logistics Alliance’.
The awards were attended by local, national and international guests and provided ideal networking opportunities. The SCLAA extends its congratulations to all finalists, high commendation recipients and award winners.
Don’t miss your opportunity in 2019 to nominate an individual or company for these prestigious awards that are recognised industry wide. To join this exciting national association please contact the National Secretariat on 1300 364 160 or email

© All Rights Reserved. All content published on this site is the property of Prime Creative Media. Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited