Primary Connect names carriers of the year

Primary Connect

One of Australia’s largest supply chain networks has announced its two carriers of the year awards.

In both company’s first time winning the awards, Don Watson Transport was given Large Carrier of the Year while Russell Transport was heralded with Small Carrier of the Year.

Primary Connect operates one of Australia’s largest supply chains with more than 7,000 truck movements per day for Woolworths Group.

Primary Connect delivers to more than 3,000 Supermarkets, Metro, BIG W, BWS and Dan Murphy’s stores nationwide and relies on its 86 carriers to deliver fresh products for customers.

Don Watson’s Transport has been in operation since 1948 and has been working with Woolworths since the 1980s.

Lyndon Watson, Managing Director of Don Watson Transport, says much of the company’s intention each day is devoted to the Woolworths freight task.

“We work on the same team as Woolworths team members, trying to kick goals for the vendors every day,” Lyndon says.

“To be seen and be recognised as doing a leading job of it is both humbling and rewarding. There are so many carriers doing a brilliant job, and to be singularly honoured while standing among them is extremely kind.”

Small Carrier of the Year, Russell Transport began partnering with Primary Connect in 2010 and operates out of Brisbane, the Sunshine Coast, and the Gold Coast.

Last financial year, Russell Transport delivered more than 125,000 pallets from Woolworths distribution centres to Woolworths, BWS, and Dan Murphy’s stores, in the south-east Queensland area.

Ken Russell, Director of Russell Transport says the award is recognition of teams on both coasts who deliver on time with safety.

One of Russell Transport’s teams.

“This award is recognition of their dedication to the task. We have always admired the businesses that have won the award previously,” he says.

“To be held in the same category as them is a true credit to our business and our staff.”

©2019 All Rights Reserved. MHD Magazine is a registered trademark of Prime Creative Media.