VTA calls for Freight Industry Awards nominations

The Victorian Transport Association (VTA) says it is thrilled to host the 32nd Australian Freight Industry Awards and is calling for nominations from the freight, logistics and transport industry.

It notes this is the first time it has been able to present the gala dinner after a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“With last year’s awards cancelled due to lockdown conditions in Victoria, this year’s presentation marks a long overdue return to an in-person celebration of our great industry,” Peter Anderson, VTA CEO, says.

“We’re looking forward to welcoming hundreds of our members, supporters, operators, suppliers and other transport stakeholders to the Palladium at Crown on September 3 to recognise our award winners,” he adds.

The VTA says it has already received many outstanding nominations for the Awards, and with just under three weeks until nominations close, it is encouraging any individuals and operations wanting to enter to apply as soon as possible.

“Our industry has achieved so much over the past two years despite the challenges of the pandemic and associated limitations on our traditional ways of doing business,” Peter says.

“What better way to acknowledge these achievements then by participating in these highly acclaimed awards and recognising your staff for their outstanding achievements,” he adds.

The Association notes that criteria for the awards can be reviewed at and encourages freight and logistics operators Australia-wide to support the awards and industry by nominating for one or more categories. Entries can also be submitted online at with a deadline of Monday, August 15.

Registration is also open for the 2022 AFIA Gala Presentation at the Palladium at Crown Melbourne on Saturday September 3, for what the VTA promises to be an exceptional night of food, drink, and entertainment.

“We’ve put together a unique program that celebrates everything Australian, with an Australian Super Band comprising Taxi Ride’s Jason Singh, Boom Crash Opera’s Dale Ryder, Bachelor girl’s Tania Doko, and The Choirboys’ Mark Gable set to wow guests,” Peter says.

“The three-course menu also features Australian produce, with fine Australian wines and other beverages provided throughout the evening.”

Nominations are open for the following award categories:

  • Female Leadership Award – sponsored by VIVA Energy Australia
  • Investment in People Award – sponsored by Logical Staffing Solutions
  • Best Practice Safety Award – sponsored by Gallagher
  • Application of Technology Award – Sponsored by Transport Certification Australia
  • Sustainable Environment Award – sponsored by National Transport Insurance
  • Young Achiever Award – sponsored by Daimler Truck & Bus

For more information on the Victorian Transport Association, click here.

© All Rights Reserved. All content published on this site is the property of Prime Creative Media. Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited